Guests FAQ

A guest is a user in an organization who does not share the organization's email domain. Guests can be invited to organizations to work on specific tasks, or in specific projects or teams.

You can collaborate with clients, contractors, customers, or anyone else who does not have an email address at an approved organization email domain (i.e. @gmail.com or @yahoo.com). Once invited, these users will become organization guests.

Guests

Guest permissions and visibility

What can a guest in an organization access?

Guests have limited access to the organization and only see what is explicitly shared with them.

  • If you share a task with them; they will only see that task.
  • If you share a project with them; they will see that project and all tasks within that project.
  • If you invite them to a team; they will see all public projects within that team, providing they’ve been added as a team member.
  • If you invite them to a portfolio; they will only see projects within the portfolio that they have been specifically invited to.
  • Guests cannot create or own rules, but they can trigger rules.
  • Guests cannot create or edit task templates.
  • Guests cannot create or edit custom field settings.
  • Guests cannot create teams or edit team settings.
  • Guests cannot record videos using the Vimeo + Asana integration.

In an organization, guests can generally interact with paid features in a passive way. If given access to the relevant project, a guest can select a custom field value from the list, but they cannot edit the custom field itself. For example, a guest can change an "urgency" custom field value from medium to high, but they cannot edit the name of the "urgency" custom field, or make edits to any of the custom field value options.

What’s the difference between a guest and a limited access member?

Guests Limited Access Members
Don't share your organization's email domain Share your organization's email domain
Are unique to organizations, don't exist in workspaces Exist in both organizations and workspaces
Don't count towards a paid plan's seat limit Contributes to the seat count in paid teams, divisions, and organizations

What exactly can guests of an organization see?

There are limited permissions. Guests have limited access within the workspace or organization they’re invited to and can only see what is explicitly shared with them.

Can guests see each other in an organization?

private users

Guests have limited access within the organization they’re invited to, and can only see what is explicitly shared with them.

If two people are seeing each other as a “private user”, they are both guests. If guests see this, that means they are not working in either the same team or project together; this is to ensure that if you’re working with clients, they cannot see one another’s names unless you want them to. Once they are both working in the same project or team, their names will be displayed for one another.

In order for guests to see one another’s names, they must be members of at least one project or team together. Just add both guests to the same project or team and they will be able to see each other’s names.

Can guests see each other's names?

For guests to see one another’s names, they must be members of at least one project together. Just add both guests as members to the same project, and they will then be able to see each other’s names.

Why am I appearing as a private user?

If two people are seeing each other as a “private user”, they are both guests.

Guests have limited access within the workspace or organization they're invited to and can only see what is explicitly shared with them.

Guests and billing

Do I have to pay for guests in a paid organization?

No. Guests do not contribute toward your overall membership count when upgrading an entire organization.

Can a guest upgrade an organization to a paid tier?

No, only a member of a free organization or the billing owner of a paid organization can request to upgrade or make changes to your paid plan.

Guest management

Who can invite guests in an organization?

Generally, any member can add a guest to an organization. Also, organization guests can invite other guests to your organization by sharing the projects and tasks that they have been given access to.

Admins and super admins of divisions on an Enterprise, Enterprise+, or Legacy Enterprise plan can also set a policy on who is allowed to invite external guests into the organization by using guest invite controls in the admin console.

Can a guest become an admin of an organization?

No. You must be a full organization member in order to become an admin of a paid organization.

Can I convert a guest to a member or vice versa?

No. It isn't possible to simply convert a guest to a member or vice versa.

The only way to turn a guest into a member, would be to set them up with an email address under your organization's domain and have them add this email address to their Asana account. In this way they would become a member of the organization, and would no longer be a guest.

How do I work with clients in my organization?

You can invite clients to your organization as guests.  

Organization membership is defined by your company's email domain (michael@yourco.com is a part of the yourco.com organization). Those who do not have an email address @ your company's email domain may be invited to your organization as an organization guest.    

I removed a guest, but they still appear in the typeahead when I assign a task. Why?

Organizations can consist of multiple teams and divisions. It is possible that when you removed a guest, you removed them from a team or division in your organization but did not select to remove them from the organization itself at that time.

Therefore, they do not appear in your teams or divisions, but they may still exist in the organization and appear in the typeahead when you're assigning tasks. To remove them, you'll need to invite them back to a team for the express purpose of deprovisioning them, as shown and explained in this Help Center article. Guests and members who have been removed from a workspace or organization will receive an email notification.

Acceptable use terms for guests

Guests are subject to clause 2.4(b) (Acceptable Use Terms) of Asana’s Subscriber Terms. Guest accounts are intended to be used to collaborate with external business partners such as clients, contractors or customers. Customers using Asana's service are not permitted to provide employees, or employees of its affiliates, with access to the Asana service as guests instead of acquiring end user subscriptions for such employees.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback