Workspaces and organizations FAQ

Organizations in Asana are based on having a dedicated company or business email domain. Anyone who signs up to Asana with your company's email domain will automatically join your company's organization as a member.

A workspace is used for personal goals and tasks, or for work if your company does not have a unique email domain. Workspaces act like singular teams.

Get started with a free Asana trial today.

Related articles

Using both

You can create separate user accounts for work and personal use.

1. One account for work using a work email address

2. A second account for personal use with a personal email address

You cannot add both personal and work email addresses to the same account as outlined in our Asana account email policy article.

The table below outlines the differences between workspaces, teams, and organizations.

Workspace Team Organization
Can be created with a personal email address   Must be created using a company/work email address
Acts as one team for personal or smaller team use Acts as one team within an organization Houses multiple teams
Cannot create new teams   Can create multiple teams
Anyone can be added as a member or a limited access member Membership is defined by team permission settings Organization membership is defined by the company email domain. All others will join your organization as guests

Converting a workspace into an organization

If you haven't already done so, add your company email address to your account.  

With a company email address in your account, you can convert one of your workspaces into an organization.  

If you do not see the option to convert to an organization, contact our Support team for help.

Your workspace will become the first team in your organization. If your workspace has been upgraded, your team will also be upgraded. You can move your subscription to the organization level from your Billing tab.

Ownership of a workspace or organization

Workspaces and organizations are shared spaces that can be managed by all members. In the free version of Asana, ownership of a workspace or organization is collective and managed by all members with access.

Ownership of a workspace or organization in a paid account

In a paid workspace or organization, members still collectively manage all projects and tasks, but billing is managed by the billing owner, and organization membership is managed through the admin console.

Workspaces and organizations privacy

Only the members of a given workspace or organization can see it in the sidebar.

If you are a member of a workspace called "Travel" that you made for yourself and also a member of your company's organization, acmeco.com, no one in acmeco.com will see that you are a member of Travel unless they are also a member of Travel.

Conversely, you cannot see the other workspaces and organizations other people are members of.

Changing the name of an organization

Only super admins and admins in paid organizations have the option to change the organization name.

If you are in a free organization, your organization name will be the same as the email domain for your work email. For example, if your company is called "Acme Co" and your work email address is "acme.co," then the Asana organization for your company will be named "acme.co."

Deactivating an organization

Organizations are shared. People can create private tasks and projects inside organizations that you may not know about. Therefore, there is no “delete all” button.

Instead, you can do the following:

Organizations are how companies exist in Asana. If you do all of the above and leave the organization empty, someone new signing up for Asana with their company email address will be auto-joined to the organization you left.

If you would instead like us to make a brand new organization for the company email domain when someone new joins, contact us and we'll remove the company email address from our system and free up the domain.

Upgrading an organization, team or creating a division

Based on your needs, you can choose which of these spaces you would like to upgrade. You can upgrade the entire organization so that every team benefits from paid features, or you can choose to upgrade a single team with a team plan. You can even upgrade a specific group of teams under one subscription with a division plan. Individual team upgrades or division plans are usually the best option for teams in large companies. Upgrade your entire organization if you want admins for your company and paid features for all teams.

You can choose to upgrade a team or the entire organization on the Change plan details pop-up window when upgrading your plan as shown in the screenshot below.

Plan details

 

On the Change plan details page, you can:

  1. Choose your type of paid plan
  2. Choose whether to be billed monthly or annually
  3. Choose the size of your plan you wish to upgrade with the Seats dropdown
  4. Choose whether to upgrade the entire organization or only one team

Here’s a little more about the three types of spaces that you can choose to upgrade:

Team plan

  • Only purchase seats for members working on projects within that team - each team member requires a paid seat.
  • Easily change the size of your subscription as the team grows. Team plans do not have access to the admin console, but you can manage your subscription via your team settings by clicking on the Manage Billing tab as shown here.
  • Can easily expand to add more teams to your plan turning a team plan into a division - please contact our Support team if you wish to create a division.
  • Paid features only available in projects within the upgraded team.
  • Allows those in other teams to use the basic version of Asana, or to upgrade their team separately.
  • Increased project permissions within teams - share private projects with a smaller group inside your team with the private to members privacy setting.
  • Priority support - paid plans jump to the front of the line for support.

Organization plan

  • Everyone in the organization has access to paid features.
  • Paid features available across each team, including newly created teams.
  • Organization-specific features available at certain tiers (e.g. requiring Google SSO, Service Accounts).
  • Admin and super admin roles for your organization.
  • Admin console access - an administrator interface known as the admin console offers easy employee and guest management.
  • The ability to make any team private.
  • All teams can be made public to the organization, completely hidden, or membership by request.
  • Admins of Enterprise and Enterprise+ organizations, as well as admins of legacy tier Legacy Enterprise organizations can take regular exports of all their organization's data.

Anyone with a company email address who signs up for Asana will automatically be added to your organization. Each member will require a paid seat with an organization plan.

Division plan

  • Paid features are available across all teams in the division.
  • Every member of the division has access to paid features when working within teams included in the division plan.
  • Admin and super admin roles for the division, as well as access to the division admin console.
  • Any team added to the division will have access to paid features.
  • Gives multiple teams access to paid features without needing to upgrade the entire organization.
  • Users can be members of multiple teams in the division without any additional cost.

If you wish to create a division plan, please contact our Support team for assistance.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback