Understanding workspaces

Asana accounts are free and are tied to individual users. Asana accounts grant access to shared workspaces and organizations to collaborate with other Asana users.

Related articles

With a single Asana account, you can create or join multiple workspaces and organizations to collaborate with various groups of Asana users. These workspaces and organizations you belong to are their own separate entities, each with their own unique set of people, projects, and tasks.

Since each workspace and organization are their own separate entities, your colleagues cannot see the other workspaces or organizations you belong to, nor can you see the other workspaces or organizations your colleagues may belong to. Learn more about privacy between these spaces here.

account diagram

Learn more about the permission settings of your projects & tasks within each of your workspaces and organizations.

What is a workspace?

A workspace is a collection of people that collaborate on projects and tasks. Workspaces can be used by any group of people and do not require a common company email domain, like organizations do.

People who create an Asana account with a personal email address (i.e. @gmail.com or @yahoo.com) will start off with a workspace.

workspace diagram

If you have a company email domain, consider using an organization instead.

People in your workspace

There are two types of people in a workspace: workspace members and limited access members. Workspace members have full access to your workspace, while limited access members are limited to the projects, tasks, and messages explicitly shared with them.

Workspace members

Workspace members have full access to all projects that have the privacy setting shared with organization, as well as public tasks, and messages in your workspace.

All workspace members can:

  • Rename the workspace
  • Upgrade the workspace to a paid plan  
  • Become billing owner of any paid workspace
  • Invite or remove people from the workspace
  • Convert people to members or limited access members

Limited access members

Limited access members are people with restricted access to your workspace. Limited access members will only see projects you share with them. You might invite contractors, clients, or other third parties as limited access members, giving them access to relevant projects and tasks without giving them access to everything in your workspace. 

Limited access members cannot:

  • Rename the workspace
  • Upgrade the workspace to a paid plan
  • Become billing owner of the paid workspace
  • Invite people as full workspace members
  • Remove people
  • Convert people to members or limited access members

Limited access members can:

  • Create new projects and tasks
  • Edit the projects and tasks that have been shared with them
  • Invite other limited access members
  • Compose messages

The role of guest is not available in workspaces. Every member of a workspace counts towards the subscription's seat limit.

Identifying members and limited access members

Identifying Members

From the Members tab on your left sidebar you can:

  1. See an overview of membership status
  2. Select Limited access members
  3. Select Remove to remove members
  4. Invite members to join 

Workspace members can also convert any member into a limited access member, or vice versa, from this window.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback