Delete your Asana account

If you're considering deleting your account, it's important to understand that this action is permanent. Before you proceed, please review the steps and implications carefully.

Please note that this information pertains only to the deletion of an Asana user account, and should not be confused with steps to cancel or downgrade a paid subscription. For more on how to downgrade to Asana Personal or change plan size, visit this dedicated article.

For steps to permanently delete an Asana user account, continue reading.

Important considerations before requesting account deletion

  • Deleting your Asana account is a permanent action: Please be aware that deleting your Asana account is a permanent action and cannot be undone. Only follow the steps to delete your account if you are certain you wish to do so.
  • Exercise your privacy rights: If you would like to exercise your privacy rights as detailed in our Privacy Statement, please fill out this form.

Deleting the account of a free Asana user

Free users can initiate account deletion themselves by either deleting their account on mobile or requesting deletion via our support team. 

On Mobile

  1. Open the Asana app and from the bottom menu select Account
  2. Click your profile picture in the top-right corner and select View profile
  3. Scroll down and select Delete account
  4. Follow the prompts to permanently delete your account

Note: You will immediately lose access, and your account will be deleted within 30 days.

On the Asana desktop app or web app

Request account deletion directly by following this link to the Asana Support Chatbot and creating a ticket with the Asana support team.

Note: Your account will be deleted within 30 days.

Deleting the account of a paid Asana user

For individual users

Contact the billing owner, admin, or super admin of your paid Asana space to request that your Asana account be deleted. Use the below steps to identify these individuals in your organization.

  1. Click your profile photo and select My organization.
  2. In the page which opens, select Admin access.
  3. View the list of admins and their email addresses.

For super admins and billing owners

It is recommended to simply deactivate user accounts or remove users from a paid space, rather than permanently delete them and their associated work.

Deleting an Asana account removes any user data such as name, profile image, email address from the Asana organization, and deleted accounts will appear simply as Deleted User to others in Asana.

Super admins and billing owners can contact support with the email address of the account they wish to have deleted.

Note: Accounts will be deleted within 30 days.

Deleting admin, super admin, or billing owner accounts

Before requesting deletion from Asana support, admins, super admins, and billing owners should take the following steps.

  • If you are a billing owner, transfer the billing owner role to another user before requesting account deletion. An active billing owner account cannot be deleted.
  • If you are the only admin or super admin of an organization, transfer the admin or super admin role to another member before requesting account deletion.
  • After you have done the above, then have the new admin, super admin, or billing owner contact support to request deletion of your account.

Deleting an organization or workspace

Warning: Deleting your organization or workspace is an irreversible action that will permanently delete the entire organization or workspace, including all associated users, teams, projects, and other work data.

This action can only be requested by a super admin or billing owner of a fully paid organization or workspace. Once requested, the organization or workspace will be deleted in 90 days, with all data cleared from systems within 180 days.

For further assistance, contact our support team.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback