Automatic guest removal

Available for organizations and divisions on Asana Enterprise+ tiers.

Visit our pricing page for more information.

Automatic guest removal allows super admins to automatically remove guests after a certain period of time of inactivity, reducing security risks for organizations. Automatic guest removal reduces manual work for super admins and makes guest management easier.

Inactivity time limits

Super admins can set the following domain-wide inactivity time limits for guests:

  • 15 days
  • 30 days
  • 60 days
  • 90 days
  • 120 days
  • 180 days 

Inactive guests will be automatically removed from the organization unless they've been exempted.

A user will be defined as active if they have engaged with Asana via mobile, web, or email. Read more about how last activity is defined.

Setting inactivity day limits

To set inactivity day limits, you must enable this control from the admin console’s security tab.

  1. Navigate to the Security tab in the admin console
  2. Scroll down to Admin controls, and click Guest settings
  3. Turn on the toggle for automatic guest removal
  4. From the drop-down, select the number of days you want to remove inactive guests after
  5. Click Save

Changes to automatic removal settings will be applied within 24 to 48 hours. Afterward, automatic removals will happen once per day.

Newly invited or recently restored guests will have a grace period to become active. They will be automatically removed if they do not become active within this timeframe.

Individual guest exemptions

Admins and super admins can set exceptions for individual guests so their access never expires.

To set individual guest exemptions: 

  1. Navigate to the Members tab in the admin console and click the three dot icon next to the member’s name
  2. Head to the Security tab
  3. Turn on the toggle for “Exclude from automatic guest removal”

The user won’t be automatically removed even if they were last active beyond the limit.

Monitoring last activity

Admins can monitor guests’ last activity through the admin console. To see their last activity, navigate to the Members tab in the admin console and look for the Last activity column. 

Asana will not send notifications to admins or guests regarding the removal.

Tasks of removed guests

When you remove guests, their tasks are added to a project, which is owned by the super admin you’ve assigned in the Member removal settings in the admin console.

Defining last activity

The following are triggers which update the guest’s last activity:

  • Loading the mobile app
  • Clicking or making keystrokes in the web or desktop app
  • Creating, completing, liking a task, or generating a comment via email

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback