Accounts

Asana accounts are free and are tied to individual users. Asana accounts grant access to shared workspaces and organizations to enable collaboration with other Asana users.

With a single Asana account, you can create or join multiple workspaces and organizations to collaborate with various groups of Asana users. The spaces you belong to are their own separate entities, each with their own unique set of people, projects, and tasks.

Related articles

Account creation

Start fresh with a personal account instead of a business account

When you sign up for Asana, you create an individual account for yourself that is associated with your name, your email address(es), and your photo (if you upload one). There is no option to choose a business or personal account at any setup stage - they are all the same.

If you plan to use Asana for work, start with an organization. If it's for personal use, consider a workspace.

I already have an account; why am I stuck on the account creation screen?

When someone invites you to join their team using another email address than the one already added to your Asana account, you'll see a new creation screen and may be prompted to create new teams. To solve this, log in to your existing account using a different browser or incognito window and add the new email address. This will allow you to access the team you've been invited to using your own account.

Alternatively, click Continue underneath the teams creation menu, and continue into your new account. You can then merge this account with your existing one. After you merge your accounts, you will be able to log in to one account with either email address and access all the organizations and workspaces you are a part of.

If you usually use Google SSO to log in or are having issues, contact our Support team for further steps.

Switching spaces

Switch from organization to workspace

There's no problem if you’ve started with an organization and now want a workspace account. Do not deactivate your account; simply leave the organization and create a workspace.

Deactivating your account will not deactivate the organization, but you will no longer have access to its content.

You cannot leave an organization unless you add a non-organization affiliated email address to your account.

From your Asana account, you can create, join, or leave multiple organizations and workspaces. You can navigate between them from your workspace and organization settings by clicking your Profile icon on the top bar.

Email domains

What to do in Asana when your company is changing email domains

The first step is to add your new email address to your Asana account.

How to update your organization’s domain

When you have a new email address, access the admin console and navigate to the Settings tab to click on Associated email domains. From here, you can submit a form, and our Support team will make the necessary changes. Please ensure you have verified your new email address before submitting the form. You can find more detailed information on adding, removing and changing email domains here.

Update domain

You can convert your workspace to an organization easily.

Changing email domains for free organizations

Free organizations can also request to change email domains through the admin console.

A domain switch is available to all tiers.

An email address was removed from an Asana account

In free organizations, all members have the ability to deprovision other members from the organization.

In paid organizations, super admins have the ability to deprovision members from the organization to remove their access.

If you need to regain access to the organization again please contact an organization member or the super admin.

Reactivation and deactivation

Reactivate a deactivated user

Restore a deactivated member by finding their name in your member’s tab in the admin console. Click the three dot icon and select Restore.

If you have further questions, please reach out to our Support team.

Deactivate account

You can deactivate your account via the Account tab in My settings.

Once you deactivate your account, you will no longer have access to any data in the account. If you would like to use Asana in the future, you will need to sign up for a new account.

Deactivating your account will only deactivate your individual account. It will not deactivate any of the workspaces or organizations you belong to. If you wish to also deactivate the workspaces or organizations you’re a member of, you must remove all projects, tasks and members before you can leave the space yourself. If you have any issues, please contact our Support team.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback