Project customization and views

This article details the essentials of project customization and the various project views available to you. Use these to enhance your workflow and tailor your team’s projects for optimal efficiency and clarity.

Related articles:

Project overview

Project overview is the team's persistent hub to showcase a birds-eye view of the what, why and how of a project and drives easy understanding of its ongoing context. The overview sets the tone for how you and your team will work together on the project, and also is where the name, description as well as roles of project members are accessible.

Project views

Everyone organizes their work differently; some like lists, others sticky notes that can be moved through different sections. Because everyone works differently, Asana has different project views available. Choose from List, Board, Gantt, Timeline, Workflow, Dashboard, Messages, Files and Calendar. This means you can choose the view that suits your work style and helps you visualize tasks more effectively. Tasks can be grouped differently across List and Board views. Check out this article for more. 

Saved views

How to create saved views.gif

See what's most relevant for you and your team with saved views for projects. Saved views allows project admins and editors to create up to 12 tabs per project with multiple list, board, calendar, gantt view or timeline tabs. 

Project-filters.png

As a project admin or editor you can apply filters and sorts to projects, as well as save the view as a new tab in your project.

To create a saved view:

  1. Filter and sort your project to your liking
  2. Click Save view to save this view for everyone
  3. Click + Save as a new tab to create a new tab for that specific view. From the three dot icon, you can rename, reorder, remove or set tabs as default.

You can use emojis as your tab icon, by starting the tab name with the emoji.

Some views to try:

  • Set up multiple calendar views to see the projects schedule by month
  • Set up a board view to show the progress for open tasks
  • Reorder project views to put the most important or most commonly used view first
  • Use the dynamic filter Assignee is Me and save it as a new tab; everyone will see the tasks assigned to themselves 

Non-task views (Overview, Workflow, Dashboard, Messages, Files) cannot be duplicated or renamed.

If your organization is currently on an Enterprise, Enterprise+ or Legacy Enterprise plan, it’s possible that the project admin updated the project permissions to Project Admins only. This means the project editor can’t modify tabs in the project.

Project colors

If you have a lot of projects, but only a few are relevant or urgent to you, use the color feature to make those projects more visually distinct.

project colors

To change a project's color:

  1. Click the drop-down menu
  2. Select Set color & icon
  3. Check the Set for Everyone box to set the project color for everyone across your workspace or organization

Sections

Sections allow you to divide and organize the tasks in your project. Sections can be used to create categories, workflow stages, priorities, and more.

You can create a section on the Desktop version of Asana using the keyboard shortcut Tab-N.

sections

Create sections

create section

To create a section in your project:

  1. Click the drop-down menu next to the Add new button
  2. Click Add section

Move tasks between sections

change sections

There are two ways to move a task to a different section:

  1. Drag and drop the task between sections in the main pane
  2. Click the section name in the task details pane and select a different section from the drop-down list

View sections

identify section

There are two ways to identify what section a task is in:

  1. From the main pane
  2. From the task details pane

In order to add a section under a list of subtasks, you must use the keyboard shortcut TAB+N.

Collapsible sections

Sections can be expanded and collapsed as required.

Click on the arrow next to a section and you can expand and collapse the tasks under the section.

Collapsible Sections

Delete a section

You can delete a section at any time.

delete section

To delete a section:

  1. Click on the three dot icon next to the section header
  2. Select Delete section

From here, you will be prompted to confirm the deletion.

delete section 2

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback