Subscription management and upgrades

For a list of common questions on subscription management and upgrades, see below.

Related articles

How to upgrade

If you are thinking about upgrading to a paid plan and know which tier would work for you, just select the Upgrade button from the drop down menu on your top bar and select from there.

Why am I being prompted to upgrade?

There are a few reasons why you might see an upgrade prompt.

You've exceeded your plan's seat limit

If you're on a paid plan and are seeing an alert indicating that your plan is over its limit, please contact your billing owner. If the billing owner is still having issues, ask them to contact Support.

You were added to a team that's already at its member limit

In some cases, a paid user may add you to a team that has already reached the member limit. If you're on a free plan, you'll see an upgrade prompt. The paid user who added you can continue collaborating in the team because they have a paid license and can collaborate over this limit, but as a free user, you'll need the team to either remove some members or upgrade to a paid plan to gain access.

You're on a Starter plan and the prompt is to upgrade to Advanced

If you're on a Starter plan, you may see a prompt to upgrade to Asana Advanced. It is not currently possible to turn off this prompt, but we do value your feedback.

You're using Asana Personal and the prompt is to upgrade to a paid tier

If you're on the free personal version of Asana, you may see a prompt to upgrade to a paid plan.

If you previously had access to paid features but your subscription or trial ended, you may lose access to projects or tasks with paid features. To regain access, start a trial, upgrade, or export your data to a CSV.

If you'd like to apply for a free trial, please contact our Sales team.

Other issues

If the above does not resolve your issue, please contact our Support team and they'd be happy to help further.

Using workspaces and organizations

If you qualify to use an organization, you should. Learn how to create an organization.

From your individual Asana account, you can create or join as many organizations or workspaces as make sense for you. You navigate between these by clicking your profile picture and using the domain picker.

Use an organization for your company’s projects if you have a company email address associated with a unique domain on your account. For example, if you’re using Asana at your work, Acme Co., you would create an acmeco.com organization. Be sure to add your work email to your individual Asana account.

Use a workspace if you are using Asana for personal goals and tasks, or for work if your company does not have a unique email domain (often the case for those working at a university).

Use both if you’re working in Asana at your company and you want to use Asana for outside interests, too.

Storage limits

No. Create as many tasks and projects and upload as many files as you need. They do not expire. Note that there is a 100MB limit per file uploaded directly to Asana, but you can always upload via Dropbox, Google Drive, or Box.

Asana's cancellation policy

A billing owner can downgrade a premium organization, team, or workspace at any time:

If you cancel your plan before the next renewal cycle, you will retain access to paid features until the end of your subscription period. When your subscription expires, you will lose access to paid features.

We don't want you to go, but for more in-depth information on Asana's cancellation policy visit the cancellation page.

More information can be found in our Subscriber Terms.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback