Modify your Asana plan

From time to time it may make sense to upgrade your plan's tier, expand the number of seats on your plan, or downgrade to a smaller number. This article outlines how you can take those actions.

Related articles

How to downgrade to Asana Personal, our free tier

If you’re looking for personal or basic task management, you can at any time downgrade back to Asana Personal. If you choose to downgrade, the downgrade will take effect at the end of your current subscription period.

  • From the Billing tab on your admin console select Cancel plan/trial or Edit plan
  • Contact our Support team at any time if you are having any issues with canceling your plan, editing your plan, or switching back to Asana Personal.

Downgrade and other options

If you choose to terminate your subscription to a paid tier, you and your team will lose access to paid features, including advanced team and project permissions, custom fields, timeline view, and task dependencies.

All cancellations take effect at the end of the current billing cycle.

There are other options you may want to consider. If you believe that your team is unsure of how to make the most out of your paid features, take advantage of the free trainings that we offer to our paid users.

You can read more about plan options and pricing in Asana.

How to edit your current plan

You can edit or switch your plan from the plan details section via the Billing tab in the admin console.

Credit card customers:

If you pay by credit card, simply select Edit plan from the Billing tab of your admin console.

Manual invoice customers:

When you click into Edit plan, you will be routed to a data capture form where you will be asked to fill in details about your project, team, and the process you want to track in Asana.

After you have filled out your preferences, click Submit and an Asana specialist will be in touch after processing your request.

sales formIf you are the billing owner of a team plan, you access your Billing tab through your Team settings.

How to change your paid plan size 

Add seats to your plan through the admin console or via Team settings for team plans.

If you’re on a manual invoice you will be directed to Asana sales to request the change.

You can change the size of your plan via the Seats drop-down menu when you choose to update the plan.

Plan details

On the Change Plan Details page, you can:

  1. Choose your type of paid plan
  2. Choose whether to be billed monthly or yearly
  3. Choose the size of your plan you wish to upgrade with the Seats drop-down
  4. Choose whether to upgrade the entire organization or only one team

When you have selected all of your options, click the Update Plan button

Asana does not offer paid subscriptions for 1-user plans but offer set increments of seats for smaller teams; such as 2, 3, 4 and up to 5-seat plans. When upgrading, you'll need to choose the most appropriate seat tier for your team size.

We would love to hear how we can improve the platform. We are constantly working to improve, so we would appreciate any feedback you can offer. Don't hesitate to get in touch with Asana Support.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback