Individual project permissions

Individual project permissions dictate the kind of actions that project members can take within a project. This may also extend to other members of the organization depending on the project's privacy setting.

Related articles

Comment-only permissions

Comment-only permissions are available with a paid Asana subscription.

Comment-only permissions for projects allow users to view or comment on projects without giving them access to edit them. This makes it easier to share the information in a project with anyone that needs it, while preventing any accidental or unnecessary changes. Capture feedback on projects and update stakeholders, while keeping the structure of your projects intact. Comment-only permissions are perfect for company wikis, templates, points of reference and processes that have been solidified and shouldn’t be changed.

Change project permissions to comment-only

You can access permission settings through the Share button on the project page.

Only project members who have project admin or editor permissions can modify a comment-only project. Those who are not project members may still have access to the project as a whole or to any of the individual tasks within it, but will only be able to access the project with comment-only permissions.

Comment only permissions

To change the permission settings of the project to comment-only:

  1. Navigate to the Share button button on the top right of your project
  2. Under Members at the top of the list, you'll see the team that the project is shared with. Click on the drop-down arrow to select Commenter from the menu.

From here you can also choose to share a project with the team or make it private to project members, and restrict what these members can do within it.

Once you change this setting, even a project that is shared with the organization will be comment-only for people who are in your team, division, or organization, but not those who are project members. Making this change will not affect the project access settings for existing project members.

Change permission settings for individual project members

The project owner and project members with project admin or editing permissions can give other project members editing access by changing their individual permission settings to Project admin or Editor.

change member access settings

To change a project member's permission settings:

  • Click on the drop-down menu beside the name of the project member you are changing the permission settings for
  • Select Project admin to give them full project permissions, including deleting the project, Editor to give them edit permissions, or Commenter to limit permissions to comment-only
  • The project owner can assign project ownership to another project member
  • Close the menu to save your changes

 

0c1de8.png

Project members will see what permissions they have in the task view over the project name in a banner.

Additive permissions

If a user has been assigned two different access levels in a project through different roles, Asana will automatically assign the highest level of access they are entitled to across these roles. 

For instance, if Céline is granted Commenter access when she joins a project, but as a member of the Scale design team, she is entitled to Editor access, then her Editor access will have priority over the Commenter access.

Individual user project permissions

Project members can be given individual permissions regardless of the project's default setting. On the project level, members with comment-only permissions or members who are assigned a task with comment-only permissions, can only post project messages and project status updates.

The table below outlines the capabilities of project members with Project admin, Editor, Viewer and Commenter permissions. Commenters can also be assigned tasks, which gives them some additional permissions on those specific tasks.

For more information on the different access permission levels, take a look at the articles Viewer access level and Editor access level

Action Project Admin Editor Commenter Commenter with task assigned Viewer Viewer with task assigned
Delete or archive project
Rename project
Change project privacy or team
Move project to a different team
Create / delete share links and read-only links
Customize permissions
Add or modify project overview
Edit notifications for all members
Add or modify project brief
Share project and manage memberships
Add and modify tasks, including subtasks, dependencies, and multihoming
Change project appearance such as default view, icon and color for everyone
Add and modify workflow features such as custom fields, rules, forms, task templates, bundles, autoshifting due dates, and integrations
Complete tasks, change assignee or due date
Set project status
Send message to project
Submit forms
Modify custom field values
Add / remove attachments

Can only remove their own attachments 

Can only remove their own attachments 

Can only remove their own attachments 

Can only remove their own attachments 

Comment on tasks or messages
Like tasks or comments

If you have comment-only access and are assigned a task, subtasks of that task must also be assigned to you in order to be able to action them. In this case, you would have comment-only access to the subtasks.

Tasks associated with multiple projects

If a task is multi-homed, project members who have access to every project the task lives in will inherit the greatest permissions.

For example, anyone who has full editing access to a task in one project, will not lose that access if the task is multi-homed to another project in which they have comment-only access. This means you won't lose editing privileges on tasks if they are multi-homed into projects you have commenter access to.

This also means that anyone with commenter permissions in one project will gain the ability to edit a task that is multi-homed into another project in which they have Editor or project admin permissions.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback