No articles found for this topic.
No articles found for this topic.
Asana Personal is designed for personal productivity and includes Asana features to help you stay organized.
Individual work - Stay on top of deadlines and priorities - whether you’re managing your daily workload, running a business solo, or growing your side hustle.
Big (and small) life events - Organize weddings and moves with the same ease as tracking grocery lists and family chores. Coordinate the chaos of life’s biggest moments and daily routines in one place.
Personal growth - Keep reading lists, workout schedules, and learning plans perfectly organized to stay accountable and track every step toward your goals.
For teams of 3 or more people, or if you need advanced features like Asana AI, AI Studio, timeline view, workflow builder, and reporting dashboards, check out our Starter plan.
You can downgrade from any paid Asana plan to Asana Personal at any time. Here's what you need to know about the downgrade process.
Note
Before downgrading, review what changes and make sure your team is prepared. Some features will become unavailable.
✅ All your projects with 2 or less members
✅ All your data and work history
✅ List, board, and calendar views
✅ Basic integrations
✅ Mobile and desktop apps
❌ Asana AI
❌ AI Studio
❌ Access to projects with paid features in it
❌ Projects with more than 2 members
❌ Public projects
❌ Timeline view (Gantt charts)
❌ Workflow builder and automation rules
❌ Advanced reporting and dashboards
❌ Forms
❌ Advanced search
❌ Admin console features
Asana Personal includes up to 2 seats per project and team. If your team currently has more than 2 active users, you'll need to take action when downgrading.
Yes! You can upgrade back to a paid plan at any time. Your workspace and data will be exactly as you left it.
If you see an error message when trying to access a project on Asana Personal, one of the following three issues is usually the cause. If you are encountering more than one, work through them in the order listed below.
If a project has more than 2 members, you will see the message: "This project has more than 2 project members. You can remove members or upgrade to continue using this project."
To resolve this without upgrading:
On Asana Personal, projects can only be private to yourself or shared with a team of up to 2 members. You cannot share a project directly with another individual user. If you want to collaborate with one other person, add them to a team first and then add the team as a project member. Teams on Asana Personal can also have a maximum of 2 members.
If a project is shared with your organization, you will see the message: "You need a paid license to access this project. To access this project and keep it shared to organization, please upgrade."
To resolve this without upgrading:
If Private is greyed out, you need to remove excess project members first, as described above. Once you are the only member, Private will become available.
If a project includes paid features such as custom fields, start dates, or dependencies, you will see the message: "This project uses [feature name] which is a paid feature. Upgrade to get access."
To resolve this without upgrading:
The legacy Personal plan is being phased out. If your account is on the legacy plan, you may be prompted to upgrade or adjust your workspace to meet the 2-seat limit.
Yes! Both current and legacy personal plans can upgrade to any paid plan at any time. See Upgrading your Asana plan.
You can upgrade to Starter (starting at $10.99/user/month) which includes unlimited users, plus advanced features like timeline view, workflow builder, and reporting. Learn more about Starter plan features.
Note
Still have questions? Contact our support team and we'll help you understand your specific plan details and options.

These cookies are strictly necessary to provide you with certain features. For example, these cookies allow you to access secure areas that require registration and set your privacy preferences. Because these cookies are essential to providing services to you, they cannot be disabled. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but it may cause some parts of the site to not work.
Third party trackers collect information used for analytics and to personalize your experience with targeted ads. Under the Virginia Consumer Data Protection Act, you have the right to opt-out of the sale of your personal data to third parties. You also have the right to opt out of targeted advertising related processing. You may exercise your right to opt out of the sale of personal data and targeted advertising by using this toggle. If you opt out, we will not be able to offer you personalized ads and we will stop sharing your personal information with third parties. For more information please see our Privacy Statement.
These cookies allow us or our third-party analytics providers to collect information and statistics on use of our services by you and other visitors. This information helps us to improve our services and products for the benefit of you and others.
These cookies, provided by our third-party advertising partners, collect information about your browsing habits, as well as your preferences for various features and services. They also provide us with auditing, research, and reporting to know when advertising content has been displayed and how successful the content has been. This information allows us and our third-party advertising providers to display relevant advertising content.
These cookies provide enhanced functionality, providing chat support, allowing you to more easily complete forms, personalizing content to your preferences, and selecting your communications preferences. If you do not enable these cookies, or choose to disable them in the future, that could impact your ability to use certain features.