Multiple accounts and merging

Related articles

If you have multiple accounts and would like to merge them into one account, you can add the email address associated with one account to the other account from Settings.

Merging your accounts will mean:

  • Email addresses from both original accounts will be associated with the one new account
  • The new account will have access to all of the organizations and workspaces from each original account
add email

Log in to your main account, then:

  1. Click your profile photo and select Settings
  2. Navigate to Email Forwarding
  3. Click + Add New Email

Please note the invitation link may require you to log in again to your Asana account, please log into the account you would like to merge.

account verification email 2
  1. Enter your New Email Address
  2. Click the Send Verification Email button

Asana will ask you to find a link in your secondary email inbox to confirm the merge.

Once the merge is complete, you can log into your account using any email address associated to your account. You won't be able to separate your accounts after the merge is complete.

If you use the Continue with Google feature, you will instead be required to verify your Google account. A pop-up window will appear to log into Google, enter the credentials for the email address currently associated to your Asana account to initiate the process.

If you belong to more than one organization that requires login by Google Single Sign-On (SSO) or SAML, you won't be able to merge your accounts. You will need to log into each of your separate Asana accounts, one affiliated with each organization, and will be required to log in separately for each organization.

Account security is our top priority, and this measure is in the interest of protecting your data by making the login process more secure for those who belong to multiple paid organizations.

Account deactivation

Only deactivate your individual Asana account if you no longer wish to use Asana. Deactivating an account is permanent and cannot be undone.

You can deactivate your account via the Account tab of Settings.

deactivate account

Once you deactivate your account, you won't have access to any data in the account. If you would like to use Asana in the future, you will need to sign up for a new account.

Deactivation only deactivates your individual Asana account. The organizations and workspaces you belong to are shared spaces and will continue to exist.

One account, multiple spaces

With a single Asana account, you can create or join multiple spaces such as workspaces or organizations. Since these workspaces and organizations are their own separate entities, you must explicitly switch between them to access your projects and tasks inside each space.

 
To switch between workspaces and organizations connected to one account:

  1. Click your profile photo in the top right corner
  2. From the drop-down menu, select the workspace or organization you want to access under Accounts on the left-hand side.

Note: The orange dot beside the organization or workspace name indicates an unread inbox notification in that Asana space.

Multiple accounts, multiple spaces

Previously, users could consolidate Asana spaces into one single account and navigate between those accounts or domains to do their work or to contribute to personal workspaces. 

With the introduction of the new Asana Account Email Policy, users will no longer be able to consolidate accounts created with non-compatible email addresses. These accounts will now be treated as separate accounts.

In order to seamlessly navigate between separate accounts and domains:

  1. Click on your profile picture in the top right corner.
  2. Under Accounts select the account you wish to access. 
  3. Once you’ve clicked on an account, you will automatically switch to that account.

The tick indicates the Asana space that you are currently viewing.

Adding new Asana accounts

For single accounts with one single Asana space connected to that account:

  1. Click on your profile picture in the top right corner.
  2. Select + Add another account.
  3. From there, you will be able to login to an existing account or create a new one and connect it with your Asana account.

For single accounts with multiple Asana spaces connected to that account:

  1. Click on your profile picture in Asana.
  2. Select + Add another account below your profile picture.
  3. From there, you will be able to login to an existing account or create a new one and connect it with your Asana account.

For multiple Asana spaces connected to multiple accounts:

  1. Click on your profile picture in Asana.
  2. Click on + Add another account below your profile picture.
  3. From there, you will be able to login to an existing account or create a new one and connect it with your Asana account.  

FAQ

What happens when I log out, will I automatically be logged out of all of my accounts?

Yes, Click on Log out all to log out of all accounts at once.

Does this update allow me to have a unified inbox and My tasks across all of my accounts?

No, the goal is to allow you to easily maintain accounts and seamlessly switch between them. Your accounts will remain completely separate, as will your Inbox and My Tasks.

What happens when I merge two Asana accounts?

When you merge Asana accounts, your most important data will be maintained, including but not limited to emails attached to your accounts, tasks, task collaborators, project memberships, team memberships, and others.

Please note that you might see some issues with integrations with 3rd party applications. Indeed, API authorization tokens and PATs are not transferred during user account mergers.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback