Domain-wide admin controls

Domain-wide admin controls allow admins and super admins to apply project defaults across their domain. This article explains the various options available to organizations and divisions. These admin controls are accessed via the admin console.

Disable shared with organization setting for new projects

This feature is available on Asana Enterprise+. Super admins may disable the shared with organization project privacy setting for their organization.

Screenshot 2024-03-07 at 10.01 1.png

Super admins may choose between the two options shown above:

1. Anyone in the organization can share projects with the entire organization, assuming they are a project admin.

2. Nobody can share projects with the entire organization. Project admins can still make use of the private to members and team only privacy settings.

Note that this functionality is available for paid organizations, and is not available with a team or division subscription. The feature can only be enabled or disabled by a super admin.

Set the default privacy level for new projects

This feature is available on Asana Enterprise and Enterprise+.

Admins can control the default project privacy for new projects in their organization or division. This helps drive consistency, as new projects are automatically aligned with the preferred privacy standard. Project admins and editors can still update project privacy for their respective projects at any time.

For domains where HIPAA is activated, this domain-wide admin control is available only to super admins. For other domains, this control is available to admins.

For detailed information on the privacy settings and how they work, visit our project privacy settings article.

Select a default privacy level for new projects

Set the default access level for new projects

This feature is available on Asana Enterprise and Enterprise+.

Admins can control the default access levels for new projects in their organization or division. Once set, new projects will have the chosen access level selected by default. Project admins and editors can still make changes to project access levels at any time.

Admins and super admins of paid organizations can enable this feature. Admins and super admins of divisions can contact our support team for assistance enabling this feature.

Select a default access level for new projects

Set the default permissions for new projects

The default permissions for new projects are made up of two parts:

  • The default setting which determines who can share and edit member access to new projects.
  • The default setting which determines who can modify the workflow and appearance of new projects.

The default permissions options are detailed below.

Default setting for sharing and editing member access for new projects

This feature is available on Asana Enterprise and Enterprise+.

Admins can control the default setting for sharing and editing member access for new projects in their organization or division. Once implemented, all future projects automatically adopt the default permissions for sharing and editing member access. However, project admins retain the flexibility to modify these settings for their projects at any time.

Admins and super admins of paid organizations can enable this feature. Admins and super admins of divisions can contact our support team for assistance enabling this feature.

Select the default access setting for who can share and manage project memberships

Default setting for modifying the workflow and appearance of new projects

This feature is available on Asana Enterprise and Enterprise+..

Admins can control the default setting for modifying the workflow and appearance of new projects in their organization or division. After implementing this change, all new projects will automatically inherit the default permission settings across your deployment. Project admins, however, can update these settings for their projects at any time.

Admins and super admins of paid organizations can enable this feature. Admins and super admins of divisions can contact our support team for assistance enabling this feature.

Select the default access setting for who can modify a project's workflow and appearance

Default settings behavior for templates and project duplication

When creating a new project via a project template or project duplication, the default settings of the newly created project will match those of the template it was created from, or the project it was duplicated from.

When creating new templates from scratch, the default settings that have admins and super admins have chosen for the domain are applied.

Select who can share projects with the organization

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback