Membership and collaboration in workspaces

Asana accounts are free and are tied to individual users. Asana accounts grant access to shared workspaces and organizations to collaborate with other Asana users.

Related articles

With a single Asana account, you can create or join multiple workspaces and organizations to collaborate with various groups of Asana users. These workspaces and organizations you belong to are their own separate entities, each with their own unique set of people, projects, and tasks.

Join an existing workspace

In order to join an existing workspace, a current member must invite you.

Leave a workspace

You can leave a workspace if you are no longer actively collaborating with the workspace members.

Once you leave, you will not have any access to projects or tasks in the workspace and the workspace will no longer appear when you click your profile picture, but the workspace will continue to exist.

 

Frame 629760.png

 

To leave a workspace:

  1. Click your profile photo in the top-right of your screen
  2. Click My Settings...
  3. Navigate to the Account tab
  4. Select Remove me from this workspace at the bottom of the page

Once you leave a workspace, you will no longer have access to its projects and tasks.

Manage workspace members and limited access members

As a workspace member, you can use the admin console to:

  • Invite other members and limited access members
  • Cancel invitations
  • Convert members to limited access members, or vice versa
  • Remove members and limited access members
access workspace members list

Access the Members tab through the admin console

  1. Click your profile photo and select Admin console from the dropdown menu
  2. Navigate to the Members tab

Here you will also see the number of workspace members and limited access members at the top of the menu. Upgrade your workspace to add more people once you reach your limit.

Convert members and limited access members

You can convert any member into a limited access members to limit their access, or convert any limited access member into a member to give them access to all public projects in your Workspace.

member guest convert

To convert a member into a limited access member, or vice versa:

  1. Navigate to the Members tab in the workspace admin console
  2. Click on the three dot icon to the right of the person's name and click Member (or Limited access member) to toggle between the two.

Invite people

Invite people from the Members tab of your admin console

You can invite people to your workspace from the Members tab of your admin console

invite People to team

To invite from the admin console:

  1. Navigate to the Members tab
  2. Click on the Invite members button
  3. Enter the person's email address
  4. You can choose a project from the drop-down menu
  5. Click the Send button

You can make a workspace user a limited access member by clicking the three dot icon beside their name within the Members tab of the admin console.

Invite people from within a project

You can also invite people from within a project as follows:

  1. Select the project you'd like to invite someone to from the sidebar or search bar
  2. Click into the Members icon at the top of the project to open a Share project window
  3. Invite users by adding project members by email or name

You will be alerted when inviting someone to the project who is not yet part of your workspace.

Cancel invitations

cancel workspace invite

To cancel an invitation from the admin console:

  1. Navigate to the Members tab in the admin console
  2. From here find the user whose invitation you wish to cancel
  3. Click on the three dot icon
  4. You will see an option to Cancel invitation - click on this to cancel the invitation

The person whose invitation you cancel will still have received their invitation email, but following the link will no longer lead them to your workspace or project. Instead, they'll see a "Sorry, you don't have access" error message.

Remove members and limited access members

Remove members or limited access members from your workspace if you no longer want them to have access to the workspace's projects and tasks.

remove from workspace

To remove people from your workspace:

  1. From the Members tab click on the three dot icon beside the member's name
  2. Click Remove

When someone is removed from your workspace, the tasks, projects, messages, attachments and comments the person created will remain intact, but their previously assigned tasks will now be left unassigned.

To ensure no tasks go unaccounted for, it is a good idea to go into the person's My tasks and reassign their tasks before removing them.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback